3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 27, 2012 6:29 PM by historicalshavlikemployee

DFS Distribution Server

Master
      Please help.  I'm new to Shavlik NetChk Protect, though I'm rather experienced at enterprise system management, software deployment and patching in general.

I want to set up NetChk to synchronize its downloaded patches with our DfsApps path, which is replicated to all sites, allowing local access at each site.

I have it set up, and I have provided domain admin credentials for Console Connection to Distribution Server.  The Test Connection button returns Success.

I have also looked in the path, and since I added it last week, a number of files have already been added.  These seem to be the Engines and Definitions files.

When I go to the Synchronize tab, I am able to synchronize Engines and Definitions successfully.  However, if I try to get a File Status Report, or to Synchronize Download Center, it fails with error "Cannot connect to remote machine".

What do I need to do to allow Synchronize Download Center to work successfully?

Thanks,
      Sandra
        • 1. Re: DFS Distribution Server
          Master
          Which version of Protect are you currently using? Where is the patch directory hosted (this will be the 'Patch download directory' identified under the 'Patch Downloads' tab within the 'Tools>Options' menu)? It could be that the local machine account does not have permissions to the patch directory.

If all else fails, contacting support directly will allow us the option of obtaining and analyzing log files, which will likely provide more insight.
          • 2. Re: DFS Distribution Server
            Master
            Sorry for the late reply.  I'm only at this client once a week.  Also, I don't think I received an email alert from the forum when your reply was posted.

We're on v7.6.0, build 1496.  I think that is the latest.

The Patch download directory is in the default location:  C:ProgramDataShavlik TechnologiesNetChkPatches