5 Replies Latest reply on May 18, 2017 5:44 AM by cwinning

Best options for servers withour File/Print Sharing

Pigeon Rookie

Hello,

Complete newbie here so forgive my ignorance...

Playing around with Ivanti Protect, and it works great for servers with File/Print sharing enabled, but this is only about 30% of my machines. Don't want to turn it on on others if I don't have to, so wondering what the best option is.

I've had a play with the agent - I installed it on a box with no file/print sharing, and allowed 4155 through the local firewall for the patching server. However, scanning the machine still shows up with a 201 error, and a simple test existence/credentials shows it as offline. The instant I turn on file and print sharing, it pops up. I'm wondering if I've misunderstood the point of the agent - I assumed it was for endpoints without 139/445 being accepted.

Any help for an ignorant newbie would be much appreciated!

Thanks.

• 1. Re: Best options for servers withour File/Print Sharing
          cwinning CommunityTeam

Hello,

"I've had a play with the agent - I installed it on a box with no file/print sharing, and allowed 4155 through the local firewall for the patching server."

4155 will allow you to send commands from the Protect to the Agents.  This is performed from View > Machine.  Right-click on a machine and you will see the options:

"However, scanning the machine still shows up with a 201 error"

You should never see scan errors when an agent is scanning a machine.  Seeing a 201 would indicate you are bypassing the agent and performing agentless scans against it.  Any from a Machine Group or Home Page  is agentless.  Right-click on a machine in View > Machines and choosing Patch Scan would be agentless too.

"and a simple test existence/credentials shows it as offline. The instant I turn on file and print sharing, it pops up."

This command is agentless based too, it require simple file sharing.

Additional Information: