5 Replies Latest reply on Mar 20, 2017 6:08 AM by cwinning

Is it possible to use a desktop pc as a distribution server?

MistiiElmore Rookie

I'm new to Shavlik and learning more everyday. At the moment I am trying to figure out a way to speed up deployment so it doesn't take 5 days to deploy a patch to all the machines on our network. I am open to any ideas anyone may have.

• 1. Re: Is it possible to use a desktop pc as a distribution server?
          cwinning CommunityTeam

Hello,

I think determining why your deployments are slow would help us figure out how to speed things up.

Are these clients on a remote network to the Protect server? You may want to consider agents.

Are the scans slow?  This could be cause by a WAN connection.  Agents may be a good fit.

Is the copying of the patches slow?  A Distribution Server could help.

Are the patch installs slow?  This is normally due to Windows Update settings.  Best Practice: Windows Automatic Updates

To answer you question, you can use a workstation as a Distribution Server.  It's just a share to store patches on.  No software is installed on it since it doesn't push files from it,  the client machines request patches from it.  Just make sure you have enough hard drive space on it since it can grow large over time.

Thanks,

Charles

• 2. Re: Is it possible to use a desktop pc as a distribution server?
            MistiiElmore Rookie

Charles,

Thank you for your response. I'm all for trying to figure out how to speed things up and to know what options are available for doing so.

Yes, some of the clients are on a remote network to the Protect server. We are currently not using agents at remote locations.

Yes, our scans are extremely slow. It has been determined that our WAN connection could be some of the problem. We are in the process of updating it to a faster connection.