3 Replies Latest reply on May 24, 2016 11:05 AM by cwinning

Script or Scan to "Get pending reboot status".

Rookie

Newbie here.... Sometimes when deploying I will notice the job is Schedule with 0 of say 30 patches install.  Finally when logging on to the remote server, I will see that the server is requiring a reboot because of another application install or other.  Is there a way to develop a scan or run an It script that you can run to get the pending reboot status of a machine?

Thanks

John Oliver

• 1. Re: Script or Scan to "Get pending reboot status".
          cwinning CommunityTeam

Hello,

We don't have a script to obtain this information. You could be encountering a Tracker update issue, it's also possible the job isn't scheduled and the deployment never started.

Are patches being installed by Protect? Deployment Tracker Stays at Executed or Scheduled Status 

Do you allow a reboot after deployment?  Most deployments require a reboot.

Do you have Windows Update checking disabled?  Best Practice: Windows Automatic Updates

Target side logs would help track down the issue.  You could gather them and open a case with support:  Support Portal

Protect 9.x Deployment Logs (For agentless deployment)

1. Navigate to a machine that is being deployed to from the console.

2. If you are unable to set logging via the GUI see this doc: http://community.shavlik.com/docs/DOC-23048

3. Stop the ST Remote Scheduler Service.

4. Delete or rename the entire C:\Windows\ProPatches folder.

5. Attempt to reproduce your issue. Please note the steps to reproduce.

6. Stop the ST Remote Scheduler Service.

7. Copy all of the contents of the C:\Windows\ProPatches folder except for the Patches subdirectory into a new folder.

6. Zip and attach to the case.

Thanks,

Charles

• 2. Re: Script or Scan to "Get pending reboot status".
            Rookie

Hey Charles