5 Replies Latest reply on Aug 3, 2015 11:42 AM by cwinning

Java Patches

Rookie

Hi,

I am still relatively new to using Shavlik to push patches through to our domains, but I am running into an issue regarding Java.

Currently, in my domain there are users reliant on an older version of Java (7u76) to run an in-house Oracle based database program.  However, Shavlik recently started to push out Java 7u79 as part of the overnight scans of the domain machines.  Unfortunately 7u79 does not work with the program and it requires 7u76 until the software designer behind the program pushes through to support newer Java versions I need to keep these machines on 7u76.  Simply put is there a way I can force Shavlik to leave Java unscathed in the scans as to not push the version?  As I have it now I can either skip Java through the scan template or include it in the list and have it force through 7u79.  Now of course when I skip it in the scan template Shavlik removes all trace of Java off the machine instead of just bypassing it and leaving it as is.

If anyone could help me out with this I would greatly appreciate it.

Thank you.

• 1. Re: Java Patches
          cwinning CommunityTeam

Hello,

"Now of course when I skip it in the scan template Shavlik removes all trace of Java off the machine instead of just bypassing it and leaving it as is."

That should not be the case, ignoring or filtering Java out of the scan would not uninstall Java from the target machine. The solution for your original issue (not updating java) would be to ignore Java updates through Patch Groups or Product filtering the Scan Template.  Something else must triggering the uninstall.  Part of the Java instal deployment routine is to remove ALL previous versions of Java from the system at reboot. This uninstall job would be running from the MS scheduler.  Finding it and deleting it would prevent Java (7u76) from uninstalling from these machines.

Let me know if you have any questions.

Thanks,

Charles