4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 2, 2014 5:26 AM by human

Patching more than two hosts in parallel

human Rookie

Hi Folks,

I'm new to Shavlik and am experimenting with patching a subset of management servers using Shavlik under the 30 day trial.

When running a deployment on say 10 servers discovered via vsphere, which are all in the one machine group using the same deployment template, the servers will only patch 2 at a time. So patches won't start installing on subsequent machines until the entire cycle including reboots has finished on the 1st two servers. I'd like deployment, installation and reboot of machines to be in parallel across the whole machine group. As some of our production environments contain hundreds of servers of the same type that should be patched together, doing 2 at a time will exceed matintence windows.

Is this a limitation of the trial or am I doing something wrong?

Cheers.

Edit: Sorry should add I want to deploy without agents if possible.

• 1. Re: Patching more than two hosts in parallel
          human Rookie

bump, no thoughts?

• 2. Re: Patching more than two hosts in parallel
            Rookie

I cannot speak for the 30 day trial, but my experience patching VMs is that several tasks run in parallel.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
            • 3. Re: Patching more than two hosts in parallel
              rworlton Employee

The confusion here probably stems from the process used to deploy patches.

When deploying patches using a push from the console and setting the scheduled start time to now, protect uses the following process

1. it connects to the first machine in the list

2. copies files to the destination machine

3. creates a schedule to deploy the targeted patches

From there on the console server relenquishes control to each individual client  machine to manage the rest of the deployment, and to report status to the console.