2 Replies Latest reply on Apr 16, 2013 11:40 AM by NickBurlison

Invalid guest credentials error - agentless > powered down VM

Rookie

Apologies if this is covered previously, but I'm just getting aclimated to the protect environment and as I can tell through my initial testing, a domain member VM that is powered down and that I've been able to scan succesfully, fails with an "invalid guest credentials" error on patch deployment install.

I've tested and the only way I can alleviate the issue is to login to the VM in question using the credentials specified in the protect deploy job.

At this point, I can run the deploy action from protect and it will patch successfully.  Is there a pre-req to at least have logged in to the VM using the credential being used by the deploy job?

I haven't noticed this req in the documentation, but I'm also relatively new to the product and its specifc requirements. Any feedback is appreciated.

Thanks- Nick

• 1. Re: Invalid guest credentials error - agentless > powered down VM
          Apprentice

Nick,

The credentials used to scan or deploy to an offline VM are listed in the machine group as the browse credentials. These credentials need to have the following rights on the VM server-

• When deploying patches to an offline virtual machine that is hosted on a server, the following VMware server permissions are required in order to manage snapshots and to change the power state of the machine during the deployment process:
          • VirtualMachine.State.CreateSnapshot
          • VirtualMachine.State.RemoveSnapshot
          • VirtualMachine.Interact.PowerOn
          • VirtualMachine.Interact.PowerOff
          • VirtualMachine.Interact.DeviceConnection (to disable/enable the network card)

This was taken from the Protect help files here-
          Contents > Quick Start Information > Quick Start Info for Virtual Machines > Notes About Virtual Machines

1 of 1 people found this helpful