7 Replies Latest reply on Jan 22, 2013 8:11 AM by chrisgoettl

GetRebootTime issue

Rookie

I'm new to Protect so forgive me if this is something that has been dicussed someplace else.

I downloaded and Approved the IT Scripts GetRebootTime. I attempted to run this on a remote server across our Domain WAN using Domain Admin credentials and received the error below.

Activity:               Get-WmiObject
      Reason:                 UnauthorizedAccessException
      Target:                
      Exception:              Access is denied. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80070005 (E_ACCESSDENIED))
      StackTrace:                at System.Runtime.InteropServices.Marshal.ThrowExceptionForHRInternal(Int32 errorCode, IntPtr errorInfo)
         at System.Management.ManagementScope.InitializeGuts(Object o)
         at System.Management.ManagementScope.Initialize()
         at System.Management.ManagementObjectSearcher.Initialize()
         at System.Management.ManagementObjectSearcher.Get()
         at Microsoft.PowerShell.Commands.GetWmiObjectCommand.BeginProcessing()
         at System.Management.Automation.Cmdlet.DoBeginProcessing()
         at System.Management.Automation.CommandProcessorBase.DoBegin()
      Line in error:          Get-WmiObject -Class Win32_OperatingSystem -ComputerName $ST_ComputerName -Credential $ST_Credential
      Offset in line:         14

Is there something more that needs to be configured on our Protect server or remote server to get this script to work?

Thanks.

• 1. Re: GetRebootTime issue
          Rookie

I am not familiar with protect or this issue, but it may be beneficial to rule out the protect application by running a similar WMI query against your target windows guests manually.  Keep in mind that WMI will not communicate with linux (of course) and may need extra patching on older Windows operating systems to work.

http://blogs.technet.com/b/bshukla/archive/2010/12/09/powershell-script-to-report-uptime.aspx