Adobe Reader Versions Explained

Version 3



    This document outlines the difference between various versions of Adobe Reader, and how to ensure you're publishing and/or deploying the right patches for your version(s).




    There are currently 4 versions of Adobe Reader:

    • Adobe Reader
    • Adobe Acrobat
    • Adobe Acrobat DC
    • Adobe Acrobat Reader DC


    The main difference between Reader and Acrobat is that Reader is free, and Acrobat is not. A few other features Acrobat includes that Reader does not are:

    • Able to create PDF
    • Able to edit PDF
    • Electronic delivery and tracking
    • Advanced E-Signature options


    Within the Shavlik Patch UI, you can differentiate between these versions by "QNumber", which is shown via the "KB Article" Column in Shavlik Patch.



    If you don't see the KB Article Column, you can add it by right clicking an existing column, and selecting "KB Article"


    For Shavlik Protect, this document explains QNumbers and where to find them: QNumbers Explained


    The first part of the QNumber tells you which product this patch applies to:

    • QAR - Adobe Reader
    • QAA - Adobe Acrobat
    • QADC - Adobe Acrobat DC
    • QARDC - Adobe Acrobat Reader DC


    With that in mind, if you were looking for the 11.0.17 update for Adobe Reader, you would want QAR11017, and not QAA11017, which would be the same update, but for Adobe Acrobat.


    Affected Product(s)


    Shavlik Patch 2.x

    Shavlik Protect 9.x